Hello, Dear Readers!

I like to flatter myself and imagine that scores of HotFrugal readers have been wailing, tearing at their hair, and beating their chests with frustration and sadness that there have been no new posts for the past couple of months.  Perhaps I flatter myself just a teensy bit much, but if you’ve missed HotFrugal at all, I have good news… I’m back, baby!

In case you’re wondering where the heck I’ve been, I’ll give you some quick updates.  First, I started a new job that I really like, but it has been very challenging.  I’m responsible for developing market plans for a highly technical product that I knew nothing about when I started.  Learning how the product works and how to sell it has been mentally exhausting, leaving little energy for writing.  Then I bought a new house just two weeks after I started the new job.  I promptly fell in love with it and have spent just about every waking, non-working hour painting, changing light fixtures, hanging pictures, replacing outlet covers, etc.

Now that things have calmed down a bit, I’m excited about writing regularly for HotFrugal once again.  And to be completely honest, I need to start writing regularly again.  When it comes to frugality, I’ve fallen off the wagon a bit in the past couple of months.  The downside of loving my new house is that I’ve had way too much fun decorating.  Actually, I’ve been spending so much money that I’m starting to feel some financial stress creep back into my life.  It’s not a good feeling, and I need to get a handle on it.

Reforming my spending habits and getting back on track will be the focus of several upcoming posts.  I’ll also be writing about managing spending temptations, retirement planning, the importance of fully evaluating and understanding a job offer, and frugal gift giving (‘tis the season, after all).  In addition, I’ll be launching a new look for the site.  My talented cousin, Brandon Gamble of Imago Identity Studio, has designed a new HotFrugal logo that will be unveiled in the near future. 

In the meantime, I’d like to wish everyone a very Happy Thanksgiving!  Have a great break from work, a wonderful dinner, and a frugal Black Friday.  🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Hello, Dear Readers!

  1. Karah

    Thank God you’re back! Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!!!

  2. Sandi

    Yes, you have been missed! Can’t wait to hear how you remain frugal while wanting to decorate a new (or old) place. I can obviously resist new furniture for way too many years but how can I walk through housewares in Target without stopping? Glad you are back!

  3. Kyle

    So a couple of major life changes divert you from your overall discipline from time to time. It’s like a diet during the holiday season… you know you are going to bend a few rules here and there. Many congratulations to you for these major accomplishments – new job, new home, just as examples – so I’m looking forward to seeing the adaptability of your overall plan to these new factors. I had to make some changes (for the better, knock on wood) that weren’t contemplated in my regimented, goal-focused approach. I’m looking forward to seeing how you characterize your relatable changes as time goes on. Good to see you back, sharing the things that somehow fit best into an open post format. As time allows, I hope to see more!

Leave a Reply

