An Ode to Quiche

I’m not exactly known for my culinary skills.  At Thanksgiving and Christmas, the only dish my family trusts me to prepare is the cranberries.  I do make them from actual cranberries (not from a can), but still, this basically requires no culinary talent since all you have to do is heat the cranberries, add sugar, and stir. 

As it turns out, making quiche is nearly as easy.  Not only is it so simple that even I can get it right every time, it is a very low cost dish that yields 6 – 8 meals.  Best of all, it seems that practically anything can go in a quiche.  I’ve been making quiche regularly for the past several weeks, and I’ve never actually planned what to put in it.  At the end of the week, I just take stock of all the left over vegetables and cheese I have remaining from other dishes I’ve prepared and I throw it all in a quiche.  Quiche has become my favorite way to clean out the fridge. 

Making quiche has dramatically reduced the number of veggies I throw away because they’ve gone bad before I have a chance to use them.  And because quiche is still delicious after being zapped in the microwave, it has become one of my favorite meals to take to work for lunch.  It’s much more economical than bringing a frozen prepared meal.  I’ve tracked my spending in detail for the past eight months, and it shows that I spend way too much on food and dining out; quiche fits in nicely with my goal of reducing the amount of money I eat each month. 

I made a rough calculation of the cost of a quiche I recently made.  It had baby spinach, mushrooms, yellow onion, feta cheese, and cheddar cheese.  The whole quiche cost approximately $7.67.  I got six meals out of the quiche, so that’s only $1.28 per meal.  Not bad!

The only thing that is bad about quiche is that the crust is quite fattening.  I’d like to find a way to make quiche without the crust or with some sort of low-fat alternative (as long as the alternative is still easy!).  If anyone has suggestions about this, please leave them in the comments section.  I was thinking that maybe I could just Pam the holy heck out of the pie dish and make the quiche as usual but without the crust.  Hopefully that would keep the eggs and other ingredients from sticking to the bottom and the sides of the dish.  Thoughts?

For those of you who don’t already know how to make quiche (the regular way with a crust), here is the super simple recipe:

  • 6 or 7 eggs
  • A dash of milk (I don’t measure, but I probably use about 2 tablespoons)
  • 1 ready made pie crust
  • Lots of veggies
  • Shredded cheese (About half a bag or 1 cup at least; more if you’re a cheese lover like me)
  • Salt to taste
  • Pepper to taste
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Place the crust in an ungreased 9” pie dish.
  3. Fill the pie dish with veggies and cover with the cheese.
  4. Beat together the eggs and milk, then pour evenly over the veggies and cheese.
  5. Bake for 30 – 40 minutes.  Let cool slightly before cutting and serving.

You can get really creative with quiche by adding blends of cheeses or fresh herbs and seasonings.  I sometimes mix pesto in with the eggs if I have some on hand that needs to be used up.  Seriously, let quiche be your garbage disposal for whatever is left in your fridge.  Your yummy, yummy garbage disposal.

Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Tips and Tricks

3 responses to “An Ode to Quiche

  1. Karah

    crustless quiche is the way to go!

  2. Sandi

    This suggestion has zip to do with saving money but I have a great recipe for crab quiche that is just delicious. Let me know if you are interested 🙂

  3. laura

    I just made quiche last weekend and, of course, forgot to get pie crust at the grocery store. I substituted 2 frozen biscuits (thawed) pressed to fit the bottom of the pan only (so no side crust) and it turned out great. At 180 calories per biscuit, you’re only looking at an extra 60 calories per serving…not too bad! And the sides didn’t stick at all (sprayed with Safeway-brand Pam), so I would think going crustless wouldn’t be too bad.

Leave a Reply

