Long Time No See

Hello friends and faithful readers.  I have realized over the past couple of weeks that my readers are much more faithful to this blog than I am!  Many of you have let me know that you are growing impatient waiting for new posts.  I’m sorry I haven’t written in such a long time.  I actually have three great topics in the works, but I can’t quite seem to pull them together for publishing.  You deserve well thought out, well written articles.  Unfortunately, it seems to take me a long time to produce something actually worth reading, so please bear with me.

(By the way, that previous sentence is a good example of why it takes me so long to write…  I first wrote “please bare with me,” but I kept staring at it for several minutes  thinking that it didn’t seem quite right.  I then realized that “please bare with me” is basically asking you to “please get naked with me.”  I like you, dear readers, but not that much.)

Anyway, as an apology for the long delay between posts, I’d like to share with you some very fun websites that offer great one-day only deals.  These websites were brought to my attention by my good friend, Lauren (the same Lauren who helped curb my ribbon-buying frenzy – see “I Get By with a Little Help from My Friends”).  The websites are:

  • Groupon.com
  • Woot.com
  • Thingfling.com

Both woot.com and Thingfling.com offer “deal of the day” items that are completely random.  One day you might find a power drill and another day you might find Christmas cards.

Groupon.com is my personal favorite of the three because it usually offers great deals on experiences or activities.  For example, today’s Groupon deal for the Baltimore area is a $25 family fun pack at the Arundel Golf Park.  The vouchers (worth $63) can be used for mini golf, the driving range, or the batting cages.  Groupon.com offers deals for many different cities, so it’s great to use the site when planning a trip.  You might be able to pick up an inexpensive spa voucher or tickets to an event that you can use while on vacation.

Of course, it is important to remember that all marketing gimmicks like coupons or deal-of-the-day specials are designed to part you with your hard earned cash.  Resist the urge to buy stuff you don’t actually need just because it’s available at 75% off.  In other words, don’t be a sale whore.  You’re much too good for that.

Thanks for sticking with me on my HotFrugal journey…  I’ll try to keep the posts coming on a more frequent basis.

2 Comments

Filed under Tips and Tricks

2 responses to “Long Time No See

  1. Marilyn Brown

    I have another site for your list.

    pulsetv.com

    It also has a “deal of the day” and many other useful and useless products, depending on the person. I’ve bought from them a few times and have always had good service.

  2. Caroll

    We shall bear with you through the “grizzly” task of overcoming writer’s block. Thanks for the groupon tip. “Good naked!” 😉

Leave a Reply

